Skip to main content

Saint Dominic High School

One Journey Through Faith and Education

Mobile Menu Toggle
Mrs. Pamela Shanley » About Me

About Me

Welcome! My name is Pamela Shanley and I am thrilled to be joining the faculty of St. Dominic High School this year.  I am currently teaching Anatomy and Forensics, Earth Science, Living Environment, and Freshman Computing Fundamentals as well as co-moderating Science Olympiad.
 
I have been teaching science for the past five years and am a graduate of SUNY Geneseo where I received my Bachelor's degree in Biology. I have always enjoyed science, but it was at Geneseo that I truly fell in love with exploring the natural world through field trips to the fossil-rich Fall Brook falls, glacially carved Mendon Ponds Park, and bird migratory hotspot Braddock Bay.  Through these experiences I got to practice science in the field while learning how to teach it in the classroom.
 
I am also a graduate of St. Joseph's College in Patchogue where I received my Masters in Adolescent Special Education.  As a product of Catholic education myself, I am so happy to be teaching in a school with a strong faith community that is committed to excellent science education.  My hope is to lead my students to the same excitement about learning and curiosity in the natural world that I found when I was in school, and fostering an environment where they can develop both academically and spiritually.
 
Homework will be posted on the class page here and on Google Classroom sites by 5pm everyday, so be sure to check the website for relevant updates.
 
Extra help is offered every Tuesday from 3-4 in Bio Lab 2. 
 
Please explore the class pages below and feel free to contact me via email at pshanley@stdoms.org with any questions you may have throughout the year.  
  
"The most exciting phrase in science, the one that heralds new discoveries, is not "Eureka!" but "That's funny...'"
-Isaac Asimov
 
Below, please find a Living Environment Regents Review Schedule for the June 2018 Regents. These sessions will be every Thursday until June 7th from 3-4pm.  Students may attend as many or as few of these as they wish. Hope to see you there!

 

Thursday, April 19   Unit 1: Experimental Design, Organizing Data, Laboratory Skills

Thursday, April 26   Unit 2 and 3: Ecology and Human Impact on the Environment

Thursday, May 3 Unit 4: Evolution & NYS Lab Beaks of Finches

Thursday, May 10 Unit 5: Life Processes & Biochemistry

Thursday, May 17    Unit 6: Human Disease

Thursday, May 24   Unit 7: Cells & NYS Lab Diffusion

Thursday, May 31    Unit 8: Reproduction

Thursday, June 7 Unit 9: Genetics & NYS Lab Biodiversity

 

Below, please find an Earth Science Regents Review Schedule for the June 2018 Regents. These sessions will be every Wednesday until June 6th from 3-4pm.  Students may attend as many or as few of these as they wish. Hope to see you there!

 

Wednesday, April 11   Unit 1: Prologue

Wednesday, April 18   Unit 2: Earth Dimensions

Wednesday, April 25 Unit 3: Astronomy

Wednesday, May 2 Unit 4: Energy

Wednesday, May 9 Unit 5: Weather and Climate

Wednesday, May 16    Unit 6: Rocks and Minerals

Wednesday, May 23   Unit 7: Surface Processes

Wednesday, May 30    Unit 8: Dynamic Earth

Wednesday, June 6 Unit 9: Earth History